Nutracheck prices · checked 22 September 2026
Is Nutracheck free? Lite, the trial and what paid costs.
Partly. Every new Nutracheck account gets a 7-day free trial of everything. After that you pay £6.99 a month or £29.99 a year, or stay on the free Lite version, which Nutracheck describes as having "daily diary limits".
On the App Store it is listed as "Calorie Counter +" by NutraTech Ltd, rated 4.8 from 264,827 UK ratings. It tracks calories and seven nutrients, and it is on iPhone, Android and the web.
Written 22 September 2026 · Aaron Keen, founder, NutraSafe · Prices read from nutracheck.co.uk/Prices the same day
What Nutracheck Lite gives you, and what paying adds
Nutracheck's own App Store listing says new users "start with a 7-day free trial. After that, subscribe monthly or yearly, or stay on the free Lite version (with daily diary limits)." It does not publish the limit. The figure most reviews quote is five foods a day, from a Food for Fitness review in December 2023. We have not been able to confirm it has not changed since, so treat it as a guide.
| Free Lite | Paid membership | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free, after the 7-day trial | £6.99 a month, or £29.99 for 12 months |
| Food diary | "Daily diary limits"; reported as five foods a day | Unlimited, on phone, tablet and the website |
| Food database | Not stated | 600,000+ UK foods with photos |
| Adverts | Not stated | "No adverts" is listed as a paid benefit |
| Also included | Not listed | Reports, recipes and meal ideas, 1,000+ exercises, website diary options, LIVE Club weigh-in, a UK help team |
Is five a day enough? Breakfast, lunch, dinner and two snacks fits, if each is one item. A meal deal of a sandwich, crisps and a drink is three on its own. Log each ingredient of a home-cooked dinner and that one meal can use up the day.
How much is Nutracheck a month?
£6.99 a month on Nutracheck's prices page, or £29.99 for 12 months, which works out at £2.50 a month. Twelve monthly payments come to £83.88, so the year saves £53.89. Nutracheck calls that a 60% saving.
That is what you pay. The App Store listing also still shows older plans and past sale prices, so the figure on your own screen when you subscribe is the one that counts.
How to get Nutracheck cheaper
Pay for the year rather than the month. Nutracheck also runs membership sales from time to time. If you are not in a hurry, the trial is free and a sale may come round.
Is there a Nutracheck discount code?
We have not found a public code we can check, so we will not point you at one. The saving we can confirm is the annual plan: £29.99 against £83.88 paid monthly.
Is Nutracheck worth paying for?
If you want a UK weight-loss diary, it has a strong case. Its database is built on UK food: 600,000+ items with product photos, including Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury's, Aldi, Lidl, M&S and Waitrose, plus Greggs, Nando's, Costa and Pret. It has been developed for over 20 years, it has a UK customer care team, and you can keep the diary on the website as well as your phone.
It tracks calories and seven nutrients: carbs, protein, fat, saturated fat, sugar, salt and fibre, and the diary can show up to four nutrient columns at once. Goals cover weight loss, gain, maintenance and 5:2 fasting, and it syncs with Fitbit, Garmin, Apple Health and Google Fit. Nutracheck also now pitches itself as a support tool for people on GLP-1 medication such as Mounjaro.
Where it stops. Nothing beyond those seven nutrients, so no vitamin or mineral tracking. It does not read the ingredient list or name the additives in a food. If those matter to you, it is the wrong tool, however good the database is.
Is there a free app like Nutracheck?
Yes, if you can live without Nutracheck's UK-first database. Each of these was checked on its UK App Store listing on 22 September 2026:
Free, no daily cap
MyNetDiary
Its listing promises an unlimited free diary with barcode scanning and no ads, and claims over 2 million staff-verified foods "including UK brands". Rated 4.8 from 23,775.
Free, from the NHS
NHS Weight Loss Plan
A 12-week plan with a calorie target and a food diary, with nothing to buy. Built around those 12 weeks, so it suits a start rather than years of logging. Rated 4.5 from 5,881.
Free with ads
MyFitnessPal
Over 20.5 million foods, and the barcode scanner is free in the UK. Premium is £15.99 a month or £64.99 a year. We compare the two on Nutracheck vs MyFitnessPal.
Ours, 25 logs a day free
NutraSafe
Free covers 25 food logs a day, barcode scanning of UK own-brand and branded food, calories and macros, and a count of the additives on each pack, with no ads. iPhone only.
Nine UK calorie counters, each with its free tier and price checked on the same day, are side by side in our best calorie counter app UK roundup.
Nutracheck vs NutraSafe, on the facts that are public
| Nutracheck | NutraSafe | |
|---|---|---|
| Download | Free, 7-day trial | Free |
| Free tier | Lite, with daily diary limits | 25 food logs a day, barcode scan, the food's score and its additive count, no ads |
| Paid | £6.99/month or £29.99/year | £3.99/month or £34.99/year |
| Platforms | iPhone, Android, website | iPhone |
| UK App Store rating | 4.8 from 264,827 | 4.5 from 36 |
| Food database | 600,000+ UK foods with photos | UK branded and supermarket own-brand; a missing pack can be added from three photos |
| Nutrients | Calories and 7 label nutrients | Calories and macros free; 13 vitamins and 12 minerals against UK NRVs on Pro |
| Ingredients and additives | Not covered | Additive count free; each one named, with what published science links it to, on Pro |
| Workouts | 1,000+ activities, device sync | Sets, reps and weight with a rolling 1RM, on Pro |
| Fasting | 5:2 as a goal setting | Fasting timer on Pro |
| Food reactions | Not covered | Reaction log, with suspected-trigger analysis on Pro |
One line there deserves saying out loud. Nutracheck has 264,827 UK ratings and we have 36. Two decades of UK users is a real point in its favour, and nothing we write changes that.
When Nutracheck is the better pick
If you are on Android, or want to log on a computer. Nutracheck has both. We are iPhone only today.
If calories are the whole job. A weight-loss target on UK food is exactly what Nutracheck is built for, and its year costs less than ours.
If you pick food by picture. Product photos on entries make it quick to choose between two similar packs.
If you want to know what is in the food, not just its calories, that is the gap we built NutraSafe for: the ingredient list read for you, and vitamins and minerals adding up as you log.
What people ask about Nutracheck
Is Nutracheck free?
Partly. Every new account gets a 7-day free trial of everything. After that you either pay, £6.99 a month or £29.99 for 12 months, or stay on the free Lite version, which Nutracheck says has daily diary limits. It does not publish the limit; reviews report it as five foods a day.
How much is Nutracheck a month?
£6.99 a month on Nutracheck's prices page. The 12-month plan is £29.99, which works out at £2.50 a month. Those are the prices on Nutracheck's own site, checked 22 September 2026.
What is the Lite version of Nutracheck?
Lite is the free version you drop to when the 7-day trial ends and you do not subscribe. Nutracheck describes it as having daily diary limits. The most widely quoted limit is five foods a day, from a Food for Fitness review in December 2023; Nutracheck does not publish the current figure.
Is Nutracheck worth paying for?
If you want to lose weight tracking calories on UK food, it has a strong case: 600,000+ UK foods with photos, a website diary, a UK help team, and a year for £29.99. If you also want vitamins and minerals, or to know what the additives in a food are, it does not cover those.
How do I get Nutracheck cheaper?
Pay yearly: £29.99 against £83.88 for twelve monthly payments. Nutracheck also runs membership sales from time to time. We have not found a public discount code we can verify.
Is there a free app like Nutracheck?
MyNetDiary's UK listing offers an unlimited free diary with barcode scanning and no ads. The NHS Weight Loss Plan is free with nothing to buy, built around 12 weeks. MyFitnessPal is free with ads, and in the UK its barcode scanner is on the free tier. Ours covers 25 food logs a day free, with barcode scanning and no ads, on iPhone.
Which is better, MyFitnessPal or Nutracheck?
Nutracheck's database is UK-first and verified in house, and a year costs £29.99. MyFitnessPal's is far larger at over 20.5 million foods, much of it user-entered, and Premium costs £15.99 a month or £64.99 a year. For a mostly UK supermarket shop, the UK database tends to matter more than raw size. We go through both on our Nutracheck vs MyFitnessPal page.
Is Nutracheck on Android?
Yes. Nutracheck is on iPhone, Android and the website, so you can keep the diary on a phone, a tablet or a computer. NutraSafe is iPhone only at the moment.
Does Nutracheck track vitamins and minerals?
No. It tracks calories and seven label nutrients: carbs, protein, fat, saturated fat, sugar, salt and fibre. We track 13 vitamins and 12 minerals against UK NRVs as part of NutraSafe Pro.
Is NutraSafe free?
Free to download. The free tier covers up to 25 food logs a day, barcode scanning with the food's score and a count of the additives on the pack, and reaction logging while you build a baseline, with no ads. Pro is £3.99 a month or £34.99 a year, names each additive and what it does, and adds vitamins and minerals, the AI Coach, AI meal scan, workouts and fasting.
A UK calorie counter that also reads the label
Scan a UK barcode and NutraSafe logs the calories and macros, and counts the additives on the pack. Pro names each one, says what the published evidence links it to, and tracks 13 vitamins and 12 minerals against UK NRVs.
Get NutraSafe on the App Store →Free download · 25 logs a day free · NutraSafe Pro £3.99/month or £34.99/year · iOS
Last reviewed: 22 September 2026 · Sources: nutracheck.co.uk/Prices and nutracheck.co.uk, the Nutracheck UK App Store listing and the iTunes lookup API, all read 22 September 2026; Food for Fitness (December 2023) for the Lite limit; NutraSafe's own App Store listing.